International Water Ski Racing Online Since 1996

AWSEF Hall of Fame Induct Marsha Fitzgerald & Kris LaPoint

The American Water Ski Educational Foundation formally inducted Kris LaPoint and Marsha Fitzgerald (more) into the AWSEF Water Ski Hall of Fame on April 19 at the Omni Orlando Resort in ChampionsGate, Florida, USA.

Marsha collecting her award

Induction day photos here by Lynn Novakofski

LaPoint, widely considered one of the icons of slalom skiing, set the world slalom record seven times during his career, the first one coming at the age of 13. He was a seven-time Masters’ slalom champion and nine-time national slalom champion. LaPoint will join his younger brother, Bob, in the AWSEF Hall of Fame. Bob was inducted in 2006. “This is a great honor and I’m really excited about it,” LaPoint said. “It makes me reflect on the things I have done and the people I have skied with throughout my career. It means a lot to me, especially considering I’ll be in there with my brother.”

Fitzgerald, one of the most decorated female water ski racers of all time, won the 1989 women’s world water ski racing title and the 1986 Catalina Ski Race. She was the bronze medalist at the 1985 and 1987 Water Ski Racing World Championships, and she was a nine-time national champion.

“When I won my gold medal in Italy (at the 1989 world championships), I got injured during the last race and was in the hospital during the final ceremony,” Fitzgerald said. ” My father accepted my gold medal on my behalf so I always felt like something was missing.. this definitely will make up for not being there to get my gold medal.” Fitzgerald will be the first female water ski racer to be inducted into the AWSEF Hall of Fame. “I am so honored to think my career was worthy of such an accomplishment,” Fitzgerald says. Never in a million years would I have thought this was possible.” Read More on Marsha

The AWSEF Water Ski Hall of Fame Selection Committee also announced the recipients of its prestigious Award of Distinction. Harry Cordellos, Novato, Calif., Arden “Art” Cozier, Orlando, Fla., John Gillette, Charlotte, NC, Mary Pelto, Macatawa, Mich., and Jim Salmas, West Palm Beach, Fla., in recognition of their water ski accomplishments and contributions to the water skiing community. The AWSEF Award of Distinction recognizes individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the sport. Recipients may include tournament skiers, innovators, industry leaders, officials and others responsible for landmark achievements in the development of water skiing as well as those whose long periods of dedication and service deserve special recognition.

The Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate is located off of Interstate 4 at Exit 58. For a detailed schedule or to register to attend the Hall of Fame weekend events, please contact the Hall of Fame at (863) 324-2472 or visit

The American Water Ski Educational Foundation, parent organization of the Water Ski Hall of Fame and Museum, was founded in 1968 as a not-for-profit foundation dedicated to the preservation of the traditions of one of America’s most popular family recreational activities and to the encouragement of and education in the safe enjoyment of water skiing.

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On Facebook